The Monstrous Blanket

Have you seen Umaro by Jared Flood?  it’s beautiful.  Dramatic.  Gorgeous.  Just look at it:

Image

Photo © Jared Flood/Brooklyn Tweed

I made one as a baby gift a couple years ago and always knew that I would eventually make another as a sofa blanket sorta thing.  As an early birthday present, my husband financed the yarn and, in a fit of conformity, I chose the exact same yarn and color as the sample, which is Cascade Yarns Lana Grande in color 6010 (Cream).  This yarn is nuts.  It’s a super bulky weight that yields 2 sts/in!  For someone who typically knits with DK weight (plus or minus a yarn weight), this is like knitting with climbing rope.  For scale, here are a couple bits of my daughter shown with the yarn.  Huge, right?  The yarn, not my daughter.

Image  Image

The pattern calls for 1100-1150 yds or about 13 skeins for a 4′ x 5′ blanket.  I have 20 skeins and 60″ US 15 circs.  This will truly be a monstrous blanket.

One comment

Leave a comment